Abolition 2000 – Global Network to Eliminate Nuclear Weapons

The world has changed enormously since we last met a year ago. In order to make sense of these changes and their implications for the work of those campaigning to abolish nuclear weapons, the annual general meeting will include a general discussion about nuclear disarmament strategies.

What are the effects of the Ukraine war on our work? How has it changed perceptions about nuclear weapons and about prospects for disarmament? Are there previous assumptions that have guided our work that might require reflection, and perhaps revision? What have you been doing differently due to the changed global context, or what do you think we should consider doing differently?

If you have thoughts or opinions on any of these questions, we’d love to hear them from you in our AGM.

The meeting will be held in two sessions of 90 mins each:

Session 1: Campaign updates and reports. Strategy discussion. Introduction of proposals.

Session 2: Discussion of proposals. Abolition 2000 Secretariat report. Fundraising. Affirmation of the Abolition 2000 Coordinating Committee and Global Council. Calendar of upcoming events.

In order to enable participation by organisations and activists around the world, Session 1 will be held twice:
Session 1 (a) is timed to suit participation by those from Asia/Pacific.
Session 1 (b) is timed to suit participation by those from the Americas and Europe. Some people (including some meeting facilitators) will attend both.

See below for the times in your timezone and to register.

With very best wishes,
The Coordinating Committee

Register here

Preparation for the online AGM

Holding the AGM as an online video conference provides some opportunities and also some restrictions compared to a physical meeting. A positive point is that more people will be able to participate as there is no need to travel and find accommodation which are both time consuming and expensive. The main restriction is the amount of time we can meet. Our usual AGMs are 1-2 days in length. For the online meeting we have to compress this into 2-3 sessions of 90 minutes each. As such, we ask everyone to spend some time in preparation for the AGM in order to ensure we can run it smoothly;

  1. Strategy discussion session: The framing for our strategy discussion will be the following questions:
    • What are the effects of the Ukraine war on our work?
    • How has it changed perceptions about nuclear weapons and about prospects for disarmament?
    • Are there previous assumptions that have guided our work that might require reflection, and perhaps revision?
    • What have you been doing differently due to the changed global context, or what do you think we should consider doing differently?
  2. Working group and campaign reports: There will be very little time during the AGM for presentations. We therefore ask all working group coordinators and campaign coordinators to submit written reports (up to 700 words) at least one week prior to the annual meeting in order that these can be circulated to all participants. Please indicate in the registration form if you will be submitting a working group or campaign report.
  3. Proposals. We will consider proposals in session 1 (a) and 1 (b), with final agreement on proposals in session 2. Please indicate in the registration form if you have a proposal.
  4. Funding the meeting (and Abolition 2000 secretariat): There is a cost to run a large online video conference. There are also costs for maintaining the secretariat. We ask that participants consider what they would have had to spend for travel and accommodation for an actual meeting, and consider donating 10% of this amount to Abolition 2000.

Session 1: Campaigns and strategy

(a): To suit participants from Asia/Pacific (and early risers in Europe/Middle East). 2 hours starting at:

Prague/Berlin: 8am
Istanbul/Helsinki/Moscow/Nairobi: 9am
Lahore: 11am
Colombo/Delhi: 11:30am
Dhaka/Astana: 12noon
Manila/Kuala Lumpur: 2pm
Tokyo/Seoul: 3pm
Sydney: 4pm
Auckland/Nandi: 6pm
Honolulu: Friday 8pm

(b): To suit participants from Americas/Europe/Africa/Middle East. 90 mins starting at:

San Francisco/Vancouver: 9am
Denver: 10am
Mexico City: 11am
Santiago/New York/Ottawa: 12 noon
Halifax/Sao Paulo: 1pm
Reykjavik/Rabat: 4pm
London/Porto/Abuja: 5pm
Prague/Berlin: 6pm
Helsinki/Jerusalem/Moscow/Nairobi: 7pm

Session 2: Proposals, funding and organization.

90 mins starting at:

San Francisco/Vancouver: 12noon
Denver: 1pm
Mexico City: 2pm
Santiago/New York/Ottawa: 3pm
Halifax/Sao Paulo: 4pm
Reykjavik/Rabat: 7pm
London/Porto/Abuja: 8pm
Berlin/Prague: 9pm
Sydney: 5am (July 24)
Auckland/Nandi: 7am (July 24)
Honolulu: 9am

Register here