Abolition 2000 – Global Network to Eliminate Nuclear Weapons

Dear friends and colleagues,

The world has changed enormously since we last met. With the Russian government’s and some elements of Israeli leadership’s veiled and not-so-veiled nuclear threats in their wars on Ukraine and Gaza, it is undeniable that the longer these wars go on, the greater the dangers of wider regional conflict and the potential for nuclear escalation become. There has never been a more important time for global citizens to raise their voices against nuclear madness and for universal human and environmental security. In order to understand these developments and their implications for the work of those campaigning to abolish nuclear weapons, the Abolition 2000 Coordinating Committee cordially invite you to participate in  Abolition 2000’s 28th Annual General Meeting (on-line), a unique platform to share reports from Affiliated and Allied Networks and Abolition 2000 working groups, discuss the evolving challenges of nuclear disarmament, and explore new perspectives and strategies in our collective efforts. This year’s theme is “Keeping the Network Connected.”

AGM Overview

When:

  • Session 1(a): Friday, February 2/Saturday, February 3, 2024
  • Session 1(b): Saturday, February 3, 2024
  • Session 2(Combined):  Saturday, February 3/Sunday February 4, 2024

Who: Open to Abolition 2000 member groups and all interested observers.

Session Details

Session 1: Campaign updates and reports. Strategy and campaign discussion in breakout groups. Introduction of proposals. 

Session 2: Discussion of proposals. Abolition 2000 Secretariat report. Fundraising. Affirmation of the Abolition 2000 Coordinating Committee and Global Council. Calendar of upcoming events.

 

Session 1 (a) – Timed for Asia and the Pacific

Friday February 2/Saturday February 3

[Corresponding UTC (GMT): Saturday, February 3 at 06:00:00]

  • Papeete/Honolulu: 8 pm (TAHT/HST)
  • San Francisco/Vancouver: 10 pm (PST)

Saturday February 3

  • Prague/Paris/Berlin: 7 am (CET)
  • Tel Aviv/Helsinki/Kyiv: 8 am (IST/EET)
  • Amman/Istanbul/Nairobi/Saint Petersburg: 9 am (EEST/EAT/MSK)
  • Karachi: 11 am (PKT)
  • Delhi: 11:30 am (IST)
  • Astana: 12 noon (ALMT)
  • Bangkok: 1 pm (ICT)
  • Tokyo/Seoul: 3 pm (JST/KST)
  • Canberra: 5 pm (AEDT)
  • Aukland: 7 pm (NZDE)

Session 1 (b) – Timed for the Americas, Europe, Africa, and the Middle East

Saturday February 3

[Corresponding UTC (GMT) Saturday, February 3 at 17:00:00]

  • San Francisco/Vancouver: 9 am (PST)
  • Denver/Edmonton: 10 am (MST)
  • Chicago/San Jose (Costa Rica)/Mexico City: 11am (CST)
  • New York/Ottowa: 12 noon (EST)
  • Halifax: 1 pm (AST)
  • Santiago/Sao Paulo: 2 pm (CLST/BRT)
  • London/Reykjavik: 5 pm (GMT)
  • Paris/Berlin/Prague: 6 pm (CET)
  • Tel Aviv/Helsinki/Kyivi: 7 pm (IST/EET)
  • Amman/Istanbul/Nairobi/Saint Petersburg: 8pm (EEST/EAT/MSK)

Session 2 – Combined

Saturday February 3/Sunday February 4

[Corresponding UTC (GMT) Saturday, February 3 at 20:00:00]

  • Honolulu/Papeete: 10 am (TAHT/HST)
  • San Francisco/Vancouver: 12 noon (PST)
  • Denver/Edmonton: 1 pm (MST)
  • Chicago/San Jose (Costa Rica)/Mexico City: 2 pm (CST)
  • New York/Ottawa: 3 pm (EST)
  • Santiago/Sao Paulo: 5 pm (CLST/BRT)
  • London/Reykjavik: 8 pm (GMT)
  • Paris/Berlin/Prague: 9 pm (CET)
  • Tel Aviv/Helsinki/Kyivi: 10 pm (IST/EET)
  • Amman/Istanbul/Nairobi/Saint Petersburg: 11 pm (EEST/EAT/MSK)

Sunday February 4

  • Canberra: 7 am (AEDT)
  • Auckland: 9 am (NZDT)

[Note: If you don’t see your location listed or want to double check the time, use the tools at The World Clock — Worldwide (timeanddate.com) to determine the correct time where you are.]

Participation and Contributions

In order to enable participation by organisations and activists around the world, Session 1 will be held twice: Session 1 (a) is timed to suit participation by those from Asia and the Pacific. Session 1 (b) is timed to suit participation by those from the Americas, Africa, Europe, and the Middle East. But you can choose to participate in either or both rounds of Session 1. We encourage you to also participate in Session 2. 

Please register for your preferred sessions and indicate in the registration form if you would like to contribute a written submission or make an oral report on behalf of your organization or network. And please indicate which of the nine breakout groups you’d like to join. We also need volunteers to read out the 11 points of the Abolition 2000 Founding Statement as well as facilitators and note-takers for the breakout groups in Session 1 (a and b). 

Please also indicate in the registration form if your group plans to submit a proposal. 

Criteria: Abolition 2000 is a network with a tiny budget and no full-time staff. Your proposal should be consistent with the Abolition 2000 Founding Statement and our Operating Principles. Proposals should be framed as solicitations for collaborative work with other people and organizations in the network. Proposals where appropriate may be referred to existing working groups, or where sufficient interest exists new working groups can be formed. The AGM does not generally make endorsements, however, we welcome proposals to publicize key events and campaigns through our newsletter and website. Please submit a short written summary of your proposal (up to 500 words) to secretariat@abolition2000.org by January 29. Please put AGM Proposal in the subject line.

Register here for Session 1(a): Asia and the Pacific

Register here for Session 1(b): The Americas, Africa, Europe and the Middle East 

Register here for Session 2: Combined (for everyone)

Reports: